Return to the Bees and Beekeeping Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Bee keeping...pros and cons

Posted by vlatheist (My Page) on
Wed, May 18, 05 at 22:18

I am very new to the idea of bee keeping. I am considering it and want to know what is involved. Is it a good hobby? I have a garden and I love the bees that visit my yard and pollinate things for me.

I also have a smaller back yard and wonder if I kept bees if they would be all over the place too much? I have a toddler son and wonder about the safety of keeping bees. Is this activity totally unsuitable for an urban back yard?

Thanks for your thoughts on the matter. :)

V.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Bee keeping...pros and cons

It's a good hobby if you're up for it, but more important, it's a noble thing to do.

Honeybees will contributed $20billion to the US ecomony this year, and that's not counting honey or beeswax.

For generations we let the feral hives in the hollow trees do all that work. Today the feral population is so low that our agricultural economy is at risk.

Keep bees. Save the economy. LOL

o

GO FOR IT! GET YOURSELF A BEGINNERS BEEKEEPING BOOK. BEEKEEPING FOR DUMMIES IS PRETTY GOOD. YOUR SON WILL LOVE IT WITH YOU. MY KIDS HAVE BEEN STUNG A FEW TIMES. MY SON ESPECIALLY LIKED TO OPEN THE TOP COVER TO TAKE A PEEK... BUT HE SOON LEARNED. IF YOU HAVE A CORNER OF THE YARD AWAY FROM ACTIVITY IT WOULD BE THE BEST. I HAVE TWO HIVES CLOSE TO THE NEIGHBORS YARD. THEY HAVE LILACS NEXT TO THE FENCE AND IT FORCES THE BEES TO FLY OVER THEIR HEAD HEIGHT WHEN THEY FLY THROUGH THEIR YARD. AN INTERESTING NOTE ABOUT URBAN BEEKEEPING... THERE IS A BEEKEEPING PROGRAM IN CHICAGO TO ENCOURAGE CITY BEEKEEPING. YOUR COUNTY EXTENSION CAN GET YOU IN TOUCH WITH A BEEKEEPERS ASSOCIATION. IT'S GOOD TO HAVE SOMEONE TO ASK ADVICE.

o

It is a good question. I remember to my father being stung when helping me to move my hives and saying me: "Hijo, no prefieres el tenis? (Son, dont you prefer play tennis?)".