Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
goldenbuckeye

Processing raw honey

goldenbuckeye
15 years ago

This is my first year to harvest my honey and I need help. I want it to be raw unprocessed so what do I need to do this without spending a lot of money. I only have one hive. I'm looking at a setup in Brushy Mountain Bee Farm catalog for $49.95. It's in the bottling and filtering section and it's a 5-gallon bucket and bottler system? What do you think of this. Would I need anything more?

Any info you can give me will be greatly appreciated.

Comments (10)

• jimtex
    15 years ago

Rosie, do you have a way of extracting the honey? If all you need is something to bottle it with just buy the valve and put it on a plastic bucket that you can buy for a few bucks at Home Depot.

• tonybeeguy
    15 years ago

There's always some small particles or bee parts when you extract that you would want to filter out.You could go with Item #804 with is the 5 gal bucket with gate and three filters for $30 You can get extra buckets free or almost free from your local bakery which you know will be food-safe.If you'd like, buy a few plastic honey gates and you'll be all set.

We use the double stainless sieve which sells for around $50. It sets on top of a bucket.We run the extracted honey through that directly into a bucket with gate for bottling. We bottle about 4oo lbs per year and it works great

• goldenbuckeye
    Original Author
    15 years ago

So what ya'll are telling me is I have to have an extractor first?

• tonybeeguy
    15 years ago