Return to the Bees and Beekeeping Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
I'm new to this

Posted by goldenoldie99 beekeeping (My Page) on
Fri, Jun 5, 09 at 2:29

My French neighbours (I live in France) are keen for me to re-activate an unoccupied, but previously used hive.

OK, so I know how to clean it; they've told me how to "bait" the hive, so bees will get in and stay there.

But what else do I need to do? How do i get to the honey? When can I expect some?

Any advice (even, don't do it!) would be helpful.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: I'm new to this

WOW! Where to begin? Are your French neighbors Beekeepers themselves who could possibly mentor you? Is there a local beekeeping club or group nearby?
If not, you should probably go to www.beesource.com a very large bee keeping forum that has a lot of answers, or a large library which may have some beginning beekeeping books on the shelves.
If you decide to do it, you'll love it!

o

This blog is tremendous:

http://beekeeperlinda.blogspot.com/

When I got interested, I started reading from her first post forward and learned along with her successes and failures.

It reads like a story so you learn in a much less linear way. And then you will know WHAT to ask on the other boards and forums.

Please email me for a few other intersting sources but I HIGHLY recommend starting with Linda.

Here is a link that might be useful: Linda's Bees

o

If you have no experience, you most likely don't succeed.
Take classes and join a group.

Here at Beesource you get quick help!

Here is a link that might be useful: Here at Beesource you get quick help!

o

Thanks for your help.

No clubs nearby, no local help, as we live in the middle of nowhere. So, will do it all online. Neighbours are not professional beekeepers, they are peasant farmers (in the nicest sense possible).

So here goes...

o