Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
swarmed

How do I get rid of swarming bees in my yard?

swarmed
16 years ago

Hello. I'm new to these forums and hope someone can help solve my problem. I have a small swarm of bees in a tree in the front yard. We noticed them about 25 hrs prior to this writing. They are hanging in a clump on a branch in small oak tree, about 10 ft up. I would like to get rid of them without killing them. I know nothing about bees, except that they are important to nature, are major pollinators, and are on the decline worldwide.

I have already called the county agent and several beekeepers in my area. None of them seem interested in coming to capture the bees, and I have no experience, knowledge, or equipment to deal with these bees. I do not want to kill them, but they are less than 20 yds from my front door. I would appreciate any advice anyone can give to help me encourage these bees to move on. Will they move on eventually?

Comments (6)

• tonybeeguy
    16 years ago

When bees swarm they usually don't go far from the nest when they first leave the hive. They find a nearby spot like the limb of your tree and may stay for 20 minutes or so up to days. I had a swarm from one of my hives that hung out way up in a pine for around 6 days. As mentioned above, you should at least wear a veil for protection and light colored loose clothing. You can also use rubber bands on you pant cuffs. One way of getting the swarm involves putting a box underneath, on a tall step ladder or you can cut the branch and carry it down. Hold the swarm over the box and give the branch a sharp rap and the cluster should fall into the box, hopefully with the queen. If the queen isn't in they won't stay. I can't believe that no one in your area is willing to help. There's a good chance that by the time you read these replies, the bees will have moved on. You may be able to find some online videos of swarm removals. Good luck and let us know how you make out

• bandit_tx