Return to the Bees and Beekeeping Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
keeping captured swarm in new home

Posted by softmentor z9/sunset13 CA deser (My Page) on
Wed, Jun 29, 11 at 22:12

Well I took the plunge and bought the suit, boxes and all the accessories. I put my wild bees in the box and all was well for the first 3 days... and the promptly few away.
Any tips for keeping bees in their new home?

Also, a few stragglers have remained behind. What can I do with them? any chance they will hatch out a queen? (I didn't see queen cells but I'm not sure I would have recognized them, I'm still very new at this) Would it be worth getting a queen for them? Other options?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: keeping captured swarm in new home

No queen would be good for a few stragglers, best to buy a package or wait for a new swarm. A swarm wouldn't build queen cell right away. Sometimes when a swarm is hived, some people
lock them up with a screen for a couple of day's...I never do.
Have you checked all your trees to see if the swarm settled somewhere?

o

Thanks Konrad for the response.
Yes, checked around. Even watched water sources and followed bees flight path... couldn't find them anywhere close.
From what I've gathered, the Q must have been killed or injured in the move.
What should I do with the brood comb I put in the frames? Just take the wax and call it a day?

o

No problem..not sure what you mean by brood comb in the frames.
Most likely the queen didn't lay in the 3 day's, if she did then most likely bees would have stayed put. Did the bees build up a little on the foundation?

o

I just took a swarm down late in the evening, actually I wasn't thinking for swarm but when checking my two hives a swarm was only about 3 feet away in a small cherry tree,.. couldn't miss it. I find taking them down late evening in low ligth they will stay put...at least over night, I never had one taking off after,....some pictures.

July 6, 2011