Return to the Bees and Beekeeping Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Ground Bees near house foundation

Posted by makk2 6 (My Page) on
Wed, Jul 9, 08 at 13:44

Hi-- this is my first time on the bee board. My husband and I have noticed a lot of bee activity near the ground next to our front porch. Today I was doing some gardening and lifted up a decorative brick, out 3 flew, I lifted up another brick and another 10 flew out from what appears to be a 3 by 3 inch hole in the ground. They were not aggressive and did not attack.

Here's my question. The entrance they are using is about 1 foot from our porch/house foundation. Since the bees aren't aggressive, I'm all for leaving them well enough alone, but will they begin burrowing into the foundation?

I'm in eastern Pennsylvania. I've never seen bees living in the ground before and it sure gave me pause.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Ground Bees near house foundation

can you get a close enough look to tell what they are? yellow jackets or bumble bees seem the most likely answers

o

Tonybeeguy, thanks for the response.

I don't think they're yellow jackets. They're fat, fuzzy and pretty friendly, not sleek and nasty like the yellow jackets I've encountered in my time. Even after I exposed their nest to the world (via moving the bricks) they came out to check me out, but didn't sting.

o

It likely that they are bumblebees. I've seen them nest in holes in foundations. Nest size usually only gets to a few hundred bees at most

o

Thanks Tony, that info helped a lot.

A few hundred we can deal with, I don't think that's going to destroy the house or anything. I'll leave them alone and thank them for pollinating my bean plants.

o