Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
thisbud4u

dimensions for bee hive

thisbud4u
17 years ago

We need two new beehives, and rather than buying pre-made ones, I was thinking I should be able to make them. I realize that I'll need to buy the frames that the bees will use for building the comb because the plastic part with its hexagonal grid is very precise, but I should be able to build at least the outside box. Questions:

1) Does anybody have the plans for making a beehive?

2) I've heard about a new way of making the frames, but I'm not sure if I heard correctly. I think someone said you just hang one frame in the middle and let the bees do the rest. Perhaps I heard wrong. Does anyone know anything about this.

Many thanks from a complete newbie!

Comments (10)

• kcook969
    17 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

BeeSource.com has a nice plans archive.

Are you looking for a 10 or 5 frame hive?

You'll find both here, aswell as plans for frames. Yup, you can make your own frames.

Here is a link that might be useful: BeeSource.com plans

• ibeewise
    17 years ago

After 50 yr. of beekeeping, I have some "unbiased" opinions, and suggestions. I do however live in N. Indiana and the climate is just a bit different from CA. Likewise, bee management is a bit different too.

You may find that making your own supers (5 3/8' or 6 1/4") and hive bodies (9 1/8") may be more expensive than buying them outright, because of waste lumber in the process. The dimensions above are frame sizes. The supers and hive bodies are a bit deeper in order to provide what is known as the "bee space". That's the space that bees are least likely to fill with wax and propolis (bee glue).