Return to the Bees and Beekeeping Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
New beehive question

Posted by taylor810 Z6 NJ (My Page) on
Sat, Jul 5, 08 at 20:05

Hello everyone,

This is my first year keeping bees and I started 2 hives this Spring. One hive is thriving, but in the other hive, the bees have only built comb on 3 frames.

Is this something I should be concerned about?

Thank-you,

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: New beehive question

Give us more info. Where do you live, and when exactly did you start them? All on new foundation? wax or plastic? How many frames of brood are in each hive. How do the bees look and how are they acting? Can you post pictures? Were you or are you still feeding them? What kind of bees are they? Italian, Russian etc.How has your weather been. We probably got a total of 6 or 7 days in june that didn't have rain
Many things are possible including:
Could be a weak queen
Bees may have superseded original queen and raised their own, which would mean several weeks before new brood hatched

o

I live in Northwestern NJ and I started them the beginning of May on wax foundation. There are two hive bodies w/ 10 frames each. I will send pictures.

I started two hives at the same time, and the other hive has two hive bodies and 1 honey super and the bees are starting to build comb on the super

o

I take it, you're in New Jersey (NJ). Sounds like your second hive is already in trouble. For the first year (especially that far north), you need to be focused on getting your hive(s) built-up enough and established so they can survive the coming Winter. And a hive that only has three frames drawn out by July is in trouble already.