Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
annie_376

Want to start beekeeping

annie_376
16 years ago

I would very much like to start keeping honeybees. Any recommendations on where to start (websites, associations, mail order sources, etc.)? Im an absolute, total novice, so nothing is too elementary for me.

Comments (10)

• cpp6318
    16 years ago

This is my first year of beekeeping. I started out by going to Drapers which is in your part of the country(I'm in California). I bought the deluxe beginner's kit and have been very happy with it. It comes with a book, First Lessons in Beekeeping, that was VERY helpful. I've called Drapers twice since then and they were more than happy to help. Beyond this, the only information I'm qualified to offer is that bee packages sell out fast so order as soon as they will let you. They send everything but the bees right away so that you have time to get used to the equipment.

• castlemaster
    16 years ago

I'd suggest talking to some local beekeep groups.

http://www.pastatebeekeepers.org/

• tonybeeguy
    16 years ago