Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
krb7694

Is it practical (safe) for me to have Bees.

krb7694
17 years ago

I live in town. I live on about a one acre lot. I have a very large fenced in backyard. I have a few ducks, a few bantie chickens & one guinea. We live in my wife's old grandparents house. Her Grandaddy used to have bees about 10 years ago. I am interested in Beekeeping. My question is: I have neigbors. They are all older people. They all love my ducks, chickens & especially my rooster! They also have gardens. Is the city a bad place to keep bees?

I do not want the bees to become a nuisance or anything or sting my neighbors!

If I knew how to post pics I would show you a pic of my backyard.

Comments (17)

• thisbud4u
    17 years ago

Well, I'm no expert, but your location does sound risky. If your neighbors all have gardens, the bees will be visiting them in force, and it's pretty inevitable that someone will get stung. In my neck of the woods, there are laws governing how much land you must have to maintain a beehive. You don't say where you live, so I can't say if you'd be violating the law or not, but you should definitely check this out.

• txbeeguy
    17 years ago

From my somewhat limited experience with city ordnances governing beekeeping, I'd be inclined to say that an acre-sized lot would most likely allow for a hive or two, but do check out this aspect. Neighbors can cause problems (even IF you're legal); most cities have nuisance animal control laws which they try to apply in favor of the complaining neighbor. Best advise I have, is "outta sight, outta mind". Don't go around advertising the fact that you now have beehives on your property - some people will react as if you're now keeping "pet rattlesnakes"! There are very gentle strains of honeybees that (properly managed) would not cause any problems. Mostly now, you need to start reading about how to keep bees and get yourself a mentor.

• huzzah
    17 years ago