Return to the Bees and Beekeeping Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Hive Splitting Question

Posted by mebeeguy Maine (My Page) on
Thu, Dec 6, 07 at 10:43

Hi, All:

It's been a few years since I last visited, but I have a question now. I've been beekeeping for several years (about 7) and have never "split" a hive. If I incur losses, I typically just suck it up and buy a new package in the spring or leave the hive vacant all summer in hopes that a stray swarm will take up residence. At +-$70 per replacement package, I'm getting a little cheap and want to try a split next year instead.

Can anyone give me the general guidelines for performing a split from a very healthy hive into a dead/vacant hive? Will I need to also provide a new (purchased) queen, or if I transfer a frame with an "active" queen cell will the transferred bees produce a viable queen?

Do I also backfill the frames I took out of the strong hive with new frames? I'm assuming I do, but place them on the outsides of the box.

Thanks for any advice you can give me.

Tim in Maine

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Hive Splitting Question

Tim, You can do a split or start a nuc from a strong hive. Last year I had a strong hive that I wanted to start a nuc from. I used a five frame nuc box. I checked the hive and took three strong frames with brood in all stages, and also nectar and pollen. I left the queen in the original hive. I keep some full frames of honey in the freezer from previous dead outs. They're handy for starting nucs. I added 2 frames of honey and closed it up, then moved it to another yard so the field bees wouldn't go back to the original hive. I put three new frames of founadtion in the original hive. The next day, a put a caged queen I got from Betterbee in the nuc and let the bees release her the same as when installing a package. They both did fine.

o