Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ladyrose65

What responsibilities come with buying bees?

ladyrose65
11 years ago

I have been trolling this site. I am very much interested in attracting bees. My neighbors and I, we don't have any honey bees, we all have large Bumblebees. I had to hand pollinate the squash myself. I understand you can purchase bees? I am a full time student, before I buy. I would like to know what I am getting into. I also have a flower garden, but still no honeybees to pollinate, lots of butterflies.

Any advice, recommedations for links, books, websites, videos are welcome.

Comments (6)

• ponders101
    11 years ago

Hi, there. I'm still new into beekeeping also. I think you mean what are your responsibilities as the owner of the bees. I have a chance to buy 2 hives this summer. One died because of the ants. The second hive also on the verge of dying again due to the ants. This is due to my negligence as a new keeper. I put them on an ant hill and did not even found out until too late. Yes, you can buy the bees. It is better if you spend more money to buy the nucleus hives or existing established hives. A package bee can fail if you not know how to take care of them. Just do a net search and you will find many beekeepers in your area. Many of them do not advertise so you have to find them yourself. A bee removal company who does not kill them will have live bees for re-homing. Find them in your area and email or call them to ask.