Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
luv_2_gardn

Begonia Nonstop® Fire Seeds

luv_2_gardn
14 years ago

Hi All,

This is my first time to grow Begonias using HPS lights. I want them to begin flowering before using them outside. The package states the seeds will flower 22 weeks from sowing. Does anyone have any experience with this? Can anyone give me any advice? Thank you so much for your help!

Take care,

Luv_to_gardn

Here is a link that might be useful: Begonia tuberhybrida Nonstop Fire

Comments (11)

• oilpainter
    14 years ago

I never started nonstop begonias from seed. It seems like a long drawn out process especially for one from your zone. I can see them taking that long to bloom, because they make tubers too.

I do start them from saved tubers and they take long enough to bloom. You have to start them the first of February for them to bloom at planting time.

• sleepy33
    14 years ago

I have 100 seeds each of nonstop appleblossom, bright rose, fire and rose petticoat and I'm fixin to start them this weekend. Some of them, anyway. Johnny's and HPS catalog both said to start them in December or January for May pack sales, so I think we're good to go on timeframe. Best of luck! Post some pics when yours germinate and I'll do the same. Where'd you get yours?

• luv_2_gardn
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Hi Sleepy,

I got my seeds from Parks -- or I should say I ordered them and now they are on back order... sigh. I have my growing room ready and I'm looking forward to starting something, anything :) Where did you get so many seeds? The packet I ordered only has 40 pelleted seeds in each package.

Thanks for the info about Johnny's and HPS. I'll have to order their catalog. I would love to see some of your pictures, and if I ever get my seeds I will show you my pictures.

Hi Oilpainter,