Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lesli8_gw

I have this and seems I am trying to kill it...

lesli8
10 years ago

It is drooping badly, It doesn't look like this at all anymore. I think I over watered it. Can I propagate the leaves? if so, how?
I am a begonia newbie. I have had this about 3 months in my Greenhouse. I find it is a fine line between over watering and under watering. I re-potted it into a larger pot mostly to switch soil, although I didn't disturb the roots much.
Thanks for your replies.
Lesli

Comments (3)

• Woebegonia
    10 years ago

There are lots of methods of propagation. Google begonias + propagation, it will take you to a large site with different methods of propagation ; i.e., 'Brads World', 'Martha Stewart', etc. You would be wise to propagate a leaf if you can, it sounds as though the plant is badly overwatered.

• hc mcdole
    10 years ago

First thing is you should repot it again - only go back to a smaller pot for winter (I recommend a clay pot for this type of begonia). The second thing is it is normal for this to lose leaves in winter but the remaining leaves should stay plump and rigid. It can even defoliate completely in winter but do not despair since this is also normal - it is resting in a semi-dormant state so do not quit watering but do not keep it soggy either. Too wet leads to root rot, too dry and the fine roots will start dying and the rhizome will lose water and start dying as well. It is a fine balance at times. A good draining potting mix should help in this endeavor.

If all the leaves are wilted and the soil is wet then I'd say you are close (if not already) of root rot. A clay pot appropriately sized should handle the watering issues (unless the drain hole clogs). Use a fast draining potting mix. Some folks like to use perlite in their mix. I've found that Miracle Gro potting mix (not the moisture control mind you) works pretty good for all my wild assortment of begonias including this very begonia.