Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gessiegirl

The teeny tiniest of them all

gessiegirl
16 years ago

Hi fellow begonia fans,

This is my first time to post to the Begonia Forum. I usually hang out at the Gesneriad, African Violet, and Bonsai forums, but I've always loved begonias, too. I'm hoping for recommendations for the tiniest of begonias to use in miniature dish gardens, terrariums, and natural gardens (usually planted in driftwood, shells, etc.), which I exhibit in African violet shows. Last year a friend gave me a start of 'Smidgen' for my birthday. Smidgen's largest leaves are only 1/2" (2 cm) long. The plant stays tiny and doesn't outgrow it's garden within a few weeks. Thanks in advance for recommendations for other true mini varieties about this size. Sources would be appreciated, too.

Betty in Arkansas where the dogwoods are just beginning to blossom out

Comments (4)

• greenelbows1
    16 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

The smallest one I can think of is B. prismatocarpa and its form 'Variagation'. (I think that name is a little silly, but it's official.) It's the one that got me back to collecting begonias when we were moving a lot and I just ran out of space for large plants. You can get it from Kartuz, where I got mine, and I think Lauray of Salisbury and Rob's Violets carry either one or both. It never gets very big at all, tiny little leaves maybe a half-inch or so, and yellow flowers with red lines in the throat. There are a number of other slightly larger ones like Patrick Worley's 'Small Change' and 'Five and Dime.' That's a mere start tho'! I think gessies and begonias go well together--at least in my house and yard!

• gessiegirl
    Original Author
    16 years ago