Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
patrick51_gw

A Question for the experts

patrick51
14 years ago

Hello, I'm a begonia addict and, once again, purchased an unusual begonia an hour ago. I've searched the web and find absolutely nothing that even mentions the name of this begonia...It's Begonia crassifolius or the Jurassic begonia....it's definitely rhizomatous...has medium-sized palmate leaves and small and abundant blossoms. It's a real beauty and expensive...would love to know the name of it. Please help me!! Ever grateful, Patrick

Comments (15)

• hc mcdole
    14 years ago

I'm curious too. I've heard of crassicaulis but not crassifolius.

I had two but looks like I lost the smaller one. The bigger one is perhaps two feet tall, gets large divided leaves, the rhizome or stem I should say is quite thick (maybe two inches in diameter), and this is my first year for it to bloom with white blossoms.

Here is crass last winter (two years old)
    {{gwi:431365}}

last summer:

{{gwi:431366}}

The lens cap is almost 3 inches across:

{{gwi:431367}}

This is how divided the leaves are:

{{gwi:431368}}

• patrick51
    Original Author
    14 years ago