Return to the Begonia Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
I need help, please

Posted by mkmullis GA (My Page) on
Wed, Mar 30, 05 at 14:37

I am not very good with plants, but I am trying. If anyone knows the answer to this, please help. I am planting dark leaf begonias around the tree in my front yard. I live in Georgia, so we have that thick red Georgia clay. Do begonias like that? Or do I need to dig it out and replace it with potting soil. I've heard the clay is acidic. Thanks for any help you may be able to give me!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: I need help, please

• Posted by bmchan z5 central MA (My Page) on
    Wed, Mar 30, 05 at 21:21

Go here:

I suspect they will rot in the moist clay soil. I only grow them in containers.

Here is a link that might be useful: Mike Stevens page:

o

Thats what I thought, though I was hoping otherwise. I planted them today in enriched soil, so hopefully they will do well. This is my first attempt at begonias, so I'm a little clueless. Thanks for the reply.

o

HI all,
I went to Mike Stevens page and found that R. Begonias don't flower? Is this right? I was just given two with different colored leaves. I had asked my friend why the first one was not getting flowers and she thought maybe it needed to be older. You see it was a cutting from hers. I do love the leaves but I was so hoping for flowers. Now the 2nd R.Begonia she gave me had different leaves that aren't varigated and she said hers had flowers on it. Maybe it's not a true Rex?
Any info would be great.
Thanks,
Georgia

o

Sure rexes have flowers but they are grown for their foilage primarily. Most rexes bloom in late summer or the fall but there are always exceptions.

Here is a picture of Mr. Kartuz in bloom from last summer.

o

The begonias like very loose soil. You would need to combine Peatmoss, vermiculite and perlite in order to prepare the bed to plant begonias.

o

Thanks so much about my flowering question. Yours is beautiful!
Georgia

o