Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nat_lia

Angel Wing Pink Peach Blossom or Dragon Wing

nat_lia
15 years ago

Hi, I'm a newbie to Begonia and need some advise on how to care for these plants. I've just bought these Begonia (Angle Wing? Dragon Wing? or Angel Wing Peach Pink Blossom??) in one pot for only $2 yesterday. The lady who sold me this Begonia only told me that they are Angel Wing and Cascading Begonia (the one with pink flowers).

What kind of Begonia I have and how to care for them?

What kind of soil (mix) -fertilizer to use?

Do they need only indirect sun?

How to propagate and make them grow bushier? as the Begonia that has pink flowers and green leaves with no dots only grow to one side (one left and one right: I have 2). I live in apartment and can only grow them indoor as house plants. Thank you for any input and advise.

{{gwi:431548}}

{{gwi:431549}}

{{gwi:431550}}

Comments (6)

• nat_lia
    Original Author
    15 years ago

These are the pics, please help me to ID these plants.
    I need to know so I can give them a good care.
    Thank you.

{{gwi:431550}}

{{gwi:431549}}

{{gwi:431548}}

• hc mcdole
    15 years ago

These are cane begonias (commonly called angel wing begonias - Not Angle). The spotted one is probably B. 'Corallina de Lucerna' but most call it Lucerna. The other plain green one is probably B. coccinea - a species.

Any good potting mix will do but you should look for a mix that will drain fast so you might want to add perlite to your mix.

They are very easy to propagate - simply cut the top out to include 3 nodes (rooting occurs at a node) and water root or stick in a good potting mix and keep slightly moist (not overly wet). Perlite is an excellent rooting medium too. Cut off all the leaves except the top two or three leaves. Pruning the tops will also help encourage new shoots to develop at the roots of the mother plant.