Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nova_gw

pigskin begonia

nova_gw
18 years ago

I found this plant at my local HD last week and it cried out to me to be taken home despite it's woebegone appearance and pricey cost. (bone dry, about half it's leaves crushed or torn, it's poor flower spikes struggling to stand) After watering and a light trim it has perked up considerably and I love the texture of it's leaves. I guess my problem now is how to keep it happy. I have never grown bigonias before and am interested in any zone 9 Florida advise. I have it on my shade porch where I grow my orchids, coleus, and ferns and it recieves very little direct sun in the early mornings. Should I repot it? If so, what type of soil? What and how much should I feed it? I am sorry for all the questions but as I said I am a bignoia newbie and will appreciate any and all advise. Thanks to all! nova

Comments (13)

• nova_gw
    Original Author
    18 years ago

Well no answers in a month so I guess I'll bump this post on down. By the way the plant is doing great and has put out a couple of more blooms.

• greenelbows1
    18 years ago

I'm sorry you haven't gotten any answers, but I'm guessing everyone has the same problem I have--I never heard of a pigskin begonia. Most begonias are not hard, and it sounds like you're doing fine. Have you been to the American Begonia Society site to look at pictures and maybe identify it further? I've been watching this space to see if anyone had an answer 'cause I wanted to know too!

• mingtea
    18 years ago

hi there,

i think that, if we're talking about the same thing, the correct cultivar name for this begonia is Begonia 'Boomer.'
    see if you can find your begonia using that search! sounds like light levels are okay, and it is indeed a great idea to browse the ABS for general culture info--look under the "thick-stemmed" classification. HTH,

-ming

Here is a link that might be useful: is this it?

• greenelbows1
    18 years ago