Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
flora2_gw

Is it terribly difficult to grow begonias from seed?

flora2
10 years ago

I am fairly new to begonias but by accident I got to reading some posts on this site and got terribly excited about the possibility of growing begonias from seed--especially the Bolivienses type. I live in the Seattle area so heat is not a concern, I can only imagine the possibilities if seeds are an option!
Any advice? Where to get the seeds, how early to start them, etc?
Thanks so much
Flor de Maria

Comments (7)

• hc mcdole
    10 years ago

Germination is fairly easy (if the seeds are viable). The difficult part is moving them up to their next pot if you sowed a bunch of seed. Just keep them in a moist environment until they are big enough to grow on their own.

The ABS has seeds to sell for members.

Mainstream seeds such as boliviensis, tuberous, Gryphon, wax, and others can be found from many vendors. I am growing a hybrid from boliviensis ('Santa Cruz') that I got from Park seed and the nice thing is those seeds are pelleted so the sowing is much easier than unpelleted dust like seed.

Any time is good to sow the seeds but you should take advantage of spring time planting so that you have the entire summer to grow them to a mature size.

Here are the seeds I started in Jiffy peat pellets very early this month.

• hc mcdole
    10 years ago

Here are some of the same seeds 4 weeks later: I'm growing cuttings in the same tray too.

• flora2
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thank you--your pictures are impressive. I think I will give them a try--the only thing I wonder is if I will get them to flower this season. I have grown more impatient with the years. Thanks so much, again, for the info.

• hc mcdole
    10 years ago

You should be able to get them to flower the first year if you get them growing very soon. The summer season is getting very close.

• ianbrazil
    10 years ago

She got lucky.