Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
skck1

anglewing begonia problems

skck1
16 years ago

I am new to anglewing begonias. I bought 16 small plants from various nurseries on-line and 4 off Ebay. Well one I apparently overwatered from reading your forum, and am left with a 2 inch bare stem. I cut off the shrivled part. It is green though, so I am hoping it will sprout a new leaf. I repotted it with lots of perlite and have it under a plant light as well as about half of the other begonias. I have the light about 16 inches away from the plants. I just moved them under the plant light yesterday. NEXT PROBLEM: I have about 9 plants that I thought were doing well BUT have developed small grey circles all over the leaves and then that part deteriates and leaves a hole. The grey spots are not fuzzy mold. Can anybody tell me what is wrong with my plants???? I am just sick about it. I paid alot of money for them and they are so pretty, and WERE doing so well. I used liquid miracle grow on them, but used it full strength. I am hoping somebody can help me !!!! THank you.

Comments (10)

• hc mcdole
    16 years ago

Cover your begonias with some kind of plastic bag or 2 liter soda pop bottle (clear) and see if that helps (it may take a couple of weeks). The problem with canes is they can get so tall and it is much harder to give them the humidity they need indoors. Watch for mold and remove the cover when you see it become a problem (same for mealy bugs). Spray and let dry, then cover again. It sounds like you have some kind of fungal problem on your other canes - spray with a fungicide to control outbreaks and remove seriously infected leaves (sometimes removing them all is the best thing to do as this will encourage new growth).