Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lisazone6_ma

Newbie Questions

lisazone6_ma
14 years ago

Hello everyone - I am completely new to begonias. I know NOTHING about them, and have only ever grown tuberous begonias outside in the summer. I recently bought two - one called Escargot, and the other from Logee's called Phoe's Cleo.

Anyway, I want to repot them into nice pots. Do they require anything special as far as soil? Do they like low light/high light? To be kept wet/let dry between waterings? I guess I'm looking for general cultural info.

I am a longtime gardener and I know a fair amount about plants, I have orchids and have grown other specialized plants, but as I said, these are my very first begonias and I know nothing! I usually do research first and then buy, but I was just captured by the leaves on these plants, and being a lover of foliage just about as much as flowers, I couldn't pass them up!

Thanks so much! I'm really looking forward to caring for my plants and I'm sure I'll be adding more soon! I saw one that I believe is an "angel wing(?)" type - long dark green leaves with white polka dots on it, that looks so cool! I just might have to get that one too lol!! I can't believe I've never noticed these plants before! I guess when I heard "begonia" I only ever thought of the tuberous ones or bedding-type wax begonias. Who knew about all these other wonderful types??!!

Lisa

Comments (6)

• hc mcdole
    14 years ago

First of all, welcome to the wonderful world of begonias. You are so right on what most people think of as begonias - tuberous, wax, and an occasional cane begonia (aka angel wing). I did the same thing. The internet changed my view on that about 10 years ago.

B. 'Escargot' is not the easiest begonia to grow (at least for me). I've bought huge ones in the past and killed those. They seem to be mildew prone too. So now I am on my 3rd one and it isn't the happiest camper.