Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dany153

wax begonias fungal disease?

dany153
10 years ago

I planted wax begonias in one of my gardens this year (about a month ago)instead of impatiens due to the fungal disease issues. They were doing fine but in the last 3 days , the begonias have started dying off rapidly.
It looks very much like last years impatiens die-off. I'm not a novice gardener and am now wondering if its the same fungal disease in the soil, from the impatiens last year. Has anyone heard if the impatien fungus is in the soil and is effecting this years gardens?

Comments (4)

• Tiffany, purpleinopp Z8b Opp, AL
    10 years ago

If you're talking about downy mildew, the strain of it that wrecks Impatiens does not affect other plants, from what I've read about it. It does stay in the soil though, so that's why it's such a devastating problem, once it's in your soil, Impatiens can't live. There are other strains of downy mildew. There may be one that attacks Begonias, I couldn't find any info on ABS, and trying to search such just brings tons of info about Impatiens.

Have you been watering that area?

Here's some info about powdery mildew on Begonias. ABS doesn't seem to have an article about Botrytis, but that's another possibility to investigate.

10 years ago

The wax Begonias I've purchased this year are struggling also. All of the existing foliage has died off (I gradually picked off each leaf as it became ugly from some kind of pathogen,) although there is vigorous-looking basal growth on all. New plants put in the ground are coping better, naturally, and overwintered plants seem unaffected, or any of the other Begonias around the yard and pots.