Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
linnea56chgo5b

What are best conditions for Rex Begonias?

I jusr bought 3 different Rex begonias as an impulse purchase. I had some a few years back, off and on, and always ended up losing them in the winter to some kind of mildew disease: spots would appear and rot would spread from that point.

I want to put these in my upstairs bathroom: a window which has diffused light (stained glass window). There is a skylight above. Most potted plants do well there.

What can I do this time to forestall problems? This is not the same location where I had the other ones that died. Are they a "keep moist" kind of plant, or one I should let dry out between waterings?

Comments (6)

• andyzoob
    17 years ago

Well, let me start off by saying, i am no expert with rexs, much less housplants.

But my first plant is a Begonia Rex.
    {{gwi:434329}}
    {{gwi:95898}}
    The last pic is from a week ago

the conditions i have had it in, is similar to the one you have posted.
    A Bathroom w/ a frosted west facing window
    i believe the key is that I close the bathroom door when taking showers, (quite a small bathroom 4 x 5 ft)
    and it supplies the rex with enough moisture in the air, as i was getting brown leaf edges / small spots, when i had it in my living room.

as for the watering question, I tend to let the soil dry out almost completely before i water again, and completely soak the soil. i can honestly see the plant in need of water, with the leaves drooping a bit. upon watering, the plant bounces back within 15 minutes, and the leaves are back up.
    I have always been hesitant to keep the soil moist at all times. hearing horror stories of Root rot.

as for wintering the plants, i have no experience.
    although i have read some info, suggesting to stop fertilizing, water with hesitation, keep in a bright spot, tend to the yellowing / dead leaves to prevent mold / rot