Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
vsjo

angel-winged begonia cuttings in water?

vsjo
19 years ago

My angel-winged begonia has long stems - dropped some leaves and flowers when I brought it indoors. I want to cut it back and root the cuttings. Is there anything special I need to do? How much stem goes into the water? Should all leaves and/or flowers be removed from the cuttings? Will the original plant sprout back if I cut it very short? Is the angel-winged the same as dragon-winged? I have just heard of that one and wonder if it is just another name for the angel-winged. Thanks.

Comments (9)

• sahm2Jordan
    19 years ago

Hi! I'm not an expert on begonias or anything but I'd really suggest rooting them in soil. I tried to root begonias in water and they all rotted. I tried cuttings from the same plant in soil and 4 out of 5 started rooting overnight. The last one took 2 days. I also just recieved about a dozen begonia cuttings in trade and put them in soil. Over half began rooting overnight and the others have all started now and it has been since thurs. If you find that your cutting starts to wilt just put a clear plastic bag over for a 'greenhouse' effect and it should perk right up. ;)

Michelle

• sahm2Jordan
    19 years ago

I would remove all flowers and just leave 1 set of leaves.

Michelle

• Begoniac
    19 years ago

Cane stems root easily in water. Two nodes in the water should be sufficient, but pot them up as soon as they develop 1/4" roots.

• Begoniac
    19 years ago

Forgot to add...they will root without removing flowers and leaves. I always remove the flowers anyway, since they begin to look ratty pretty quickly, but I only remove damaged leaves. Sometimes I just cut the damaged part off and leave the rest of the leaf. They used to tell us to remove leaves, but they found that it's best to leave them on.

• singnfool
    19 years ago