Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
cena_gw

Oh NO! Help with powdery mildew

Cena
19 years ago

Went to water this evening and what did I find? PM on Sinbad, my Bob Golden, and some others. So, I need a magic potion. Well, you know.

Of course, I know the first thing I need to do is get some air in there amoungst them. But I am looking for a good wipe solution, with baking soda, peroxide, soap, or whatever works with Begonias to stop this from spreading.

Is it time to repot? Many of these are recently aquired from the ABS convention in town recently... and I'm kinda new to begonia care. Most are in teeny pots and they are getting top heavy anyway.

Nigella and Begoniac can tell you I'm not a complete plant moron, just about begonias. Looking forward to hearing what worked for you.

Thanking you in advance for any answers.

Cena

Comments (6)

• AuntieCelene
    19 years ago

If you're not opposed to chemicals, IMO Green Light Fungaway is the best. If you'd prefer a more natural approach, flowers of sulfur in a saltshaker (I use a cheese shaker like used at a pizza place) sprinkled on the affected areas helps.

HTH,

Celene

• Cena
    Original Author
    19 years ago

Thank you so much, Celene. I remember some kind of solution that used baking soda... I have sulfur somewhere though. Good Idea!

• Cena
    Original Author
    19 years ago

I think DH threw my sulfer out when we moved. It's tough to find in this town, so I ended up with Safers Fungicide, ready to use in a hand spray bottle. I will let you know how things go. When I was at the nursery purchasing this, the head gardener told me that everyone was having problems with PM, since we haven't had the heat in the month of October we usually have.

• Margaret_MacD
    19 years ago