Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
greendreams_gw

Begonia boliviensis 'Bonfire'

greendreams
18 years ago

Hi out there

I have bought myself a nice plant of B. boliviensis "bonfire" I have tried to find some information on hibernating this species and it is listed as a tuberous Begonia. Now I am rather new to Begonias (although I have some experience with plants) so I need some advice here. My other tuberous Bgonia has dropped its stems and it does have tubers which I did hibernate successfully for several years. Bonfire has an almost woody stem and refuses to let go of its leaves and stems. Now, what to do. I LIKE this cultivar!!! and I would like to keep it alive. I am living in the Netherlands with mild winters and a lot of rain.

Rolf from a depressingly cold and wet The Hague (The Netherlands)

Comments (7)

• birdinthepalm
    18 years ago

I guess I goofed on an earier attempt to post an answer, but most tuberous types do stand a heavy pruning and a winter dormancy period induced by allowing them to get quite dry and then kept barely moist in a cool location indoors. Sometimes in warmer climates they can be left in the ground , provided it's not overly wet. I'd think however , just keeping them in a bright window in a warm indoor place might work as well, so you can appreciate them through the winter months , when it's gloomy, wet, and cold outdoors. I'm not sure about that specific variety though!

• eye_love_begonias
    18 years ago

from page 192 of 'Begonias The Complete Reference Guide by Mildred L. Thompson and Edward J. Thompson'