Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
vera_ewash

Is this a Rex?

Vera_EWASH
18 years ago

Looks like a Rex, but is there such a one that has plain ol' green leaves? I don't know much about Begonia's, but the mother plant has leaves that get really big and look very simular to Angel Wing leaves at maturity. I'm a greenhouse student and the plants are growing in the house that holds our stock plants. A stem broke off and I was let take it home rather than toss it, but they don't know that exact cultivar and said it was some kind of Rex. We looked in some referrence books but they are all colorful leaved varieties.

Here's a few pics...your help appreciated! Thanks.

{{gwi:440379}}
{{gwi:440381}}
{{gwi:440383}}

Vera

Comments (10)

• Vera_EWASH
    Original Author
    18 years ago

Sorry it's not very clear! Should tell you the leaves also have hairs along the margins that are red but shorter than those on the petioles...also the upper-leaf surface has these hairs.

Thanks

Vera

• mingtea
    18 years ago

hi there,

this is a rhizomatous variety, a B. ricinifolia hybrid. the stem can be easily propagated rooted in water or substrate.

-ming

• Vera_EWASH
    Original Author
    18 years ago

Oh Thank you! After posting and doing some more googling, I thought it might have been one of the rhizomatous type, but I was having serious trouble finding the species.
    Your great :)

Vera

• mingtea
    18 years ago

this was one of my first begonias. :)

rexes are actually rhizomatous, too, but the group is distinguished by having the species, Begonia rex, somewhere in their lineage. good luck growing,

-ming

• vera_eastern_wa
    18 years ago

Update.
    The cutting rooted fine in perlite and I potted it up about December 5th. It's just been within the last 5 days that babies begin emerging from the rhizome! I thought it would never happen!

Vera

• anamallorca
    18 years ago

Hi there!