Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lesleyjl

wintering my bog

lesleyjl
19 years ago

I have created a bog from the runoff of my pond. It dips a little on one side so I let the input run a little longer and voila! a bog. It always has a tiny bit of water on the top which leads me to my question...what do I do in the winter to protect the plants? I have a variety of plants and I always looked for plants that could go down to zone 5 or 6 since I know it is better to have hardy plants, but the question is, do I turn off the run off? I am thinking that the 1/2 inch of water will freeze to solid ice and does that hurt the plants? In my yard it has gone down as low as 10 degrees in the winter. My water dishes for my animals freeze in the winter though my pond does not. Of course, it could be the waterfall and the 2 1/2 foot depth, but still, is it better to shut off the input and re-water when it is spring?

Thank you!

Lesley

Comments (6)

• Sean_McKinney
    19 years ago

I am a newbie at bogs but I did nothing with my first bog, a soil and peat mound inside a pond, I just let nature take its course. The mound rises to, at most, 1" above water level so the ground is saturated. Yellow flag Iris, common and curly rushes survived, in fact I dont rememeber any non annual that didnt except
    a) lobellia cardinalis (victoria) but it seems debatable if that is a bog plant and
    b) Marsh St John's wort
    besides I have yet to overwinter either of those whereever they are.

• lesleyjl
    Original Author
    19 years ago

I just have two questions, was there any water on top of the soil or was it just saturated? It would seem to me since you don't have it created by runoff, rather by capillary action, it wouldn't have the water on top. My instinct is to not have any standing water on it, but to water it occasionally by adding more water.