Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
joxo1990

Majoring in Botany

joxo1990
19 years ago

I am a community college student right now, and I am planning to transfer to either UC Santa Cruz, or UC Davis. I was wondering if any one knew how much money a botany major could get me, because I know I woud be happy with haveing one. I was also wondering which of the two above college would be the best choice? Thanks for your time.

Ryan

Comments (12)

• The_Mohave__Kid
    19 years ago

Hello Ryan ...

Thats a tuff question ... I'd wager somewhere there is at least one lawyer that can't make a nickle at law ?? ... and maybe a botanist that gives away fancy cars ??

In general botanist are not known for making lots of money ... in my own very limited first hand view .. I see jobs related to botany / Horticulture that pay lets say 20,000 to 75,000 ?? .... more or less ... some make a bit more then 75K some even less then 20K ... myself my BS degree is in plant ecology but I work in the landscape construction .. maintenance industry.

A formal Botanist would work more in Universities .. or goverment jobs ( pay rates by the way for goverment jobs are all public information so look it up ) ...

It's not always what field you choose but how you apply ALL that you know from life and education when it comes to making a buck ... as well as "who you know" .. "who you get to know" .."dumb luck" and "Steping in Sh&t" . A good idea helps too ... What can you make ? .. Not What can I get as a Botanist are to different questions.

Sorry .. I don't have any statistics but I'm not a database.

Good Day ...

• flutteryby
    19 years ago

Hi,

I found this website that has a great deal of information about careers in botany.

Check it out...
    http://www.botany.org/bsa/careers/

• Hwy66Jan
    18 years ago

Joxo: "do what you love and the money will follow". Listen to this with your heart and take control with your mind. Best of luck from a happy old botanist!