Return to the Botany Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
senior in highschool

Posted by beroan03 Texas (My Page) on
Sat, May 7, 11 at 14:52

i am a senior and i graduate in a month. im really interested in botany or really anything to do with plants. i plan on going to college for botany. i wanted to know what is the best specialization to get into? im also thinking about going to Texas ATM when i get done with my basics at a local community college, is that a good school for botany?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: senior in highschool

I expect that by the time you finish the best specialization will still be genetics. Texas, did you mean A&M should be as good as anything you will find east of Davis.

o

o

Hello Beroan,
Just what really interests you at the moment? List everything that you enjoy. And why are you interested in botany?
What kind of lifestyle choices are you used to living under?
Before deciding upon a major of Botany you need to ascertain if there is a particular field that might be of interest to you. Are you into chemistry or geology?
Texas A & M is an excellent school but you need to look closely at what in their majors listing is in the general area of interest to you. Check the link below.

Here is a link that might be useful: College of Ag & Life Science Texas A & M

o

With population growth and a continuing decrease in arable acreage, there is an urgency to increase the yield per acre. The most efficient way to do this is by improved varieties. Plant geneticists will be in demand and Brazil seems to have set up an infrastructure to attract them.
Now if only I were 30 years younger, I would learn to speak Portuguese.

o

Portuguese? Really?
Isn't this about a young person making up their own mind
based upon their own interests and lifestyle needs.
There are many ways to increase productivity besides
introducing engineered plants that can be easily exploited
by the few to rip off farmers and vis a vis consumers.