Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
botanybabe

Blooms, blossoms or flowers?

botanybabe
15 years ago

Hello folks,

I've noticed as I visit various discussion groups, that very many people refer to flowers as "blooms." Daylily folks say "Today's Blooms" then post a lot of pictures. Many folk do the same on other forums.

Am I wrong to be annoyed? When I was a botany student, we learned that these things were called "flowers" and "bloom" was a verb. Has this changed?

Perhaps I should just relax, but it really bugs me.

Lainey

Comments (8)

• gardener_sandy
    15 years ago

The thing to remember is that not everyone who visits these forums has a degree in botany or has even studied the subject or they may have forgotten what they did study long ago. We usually know what is meant by the context. Relax. Find something serious to get "bugged" about like excess use of pesticides or whatever gets your dander up.

Sandy

• rhizo_1 (North AL) zone 7
    15 years ago

'Bloom' can be used perfectly correctly as a noun OR a verb. As can 'flower'. As can 'blossom'.

There is no botanical rule that declares the correctness or validity of these words when used in a botanical context.

As an aside, 'bloom' is the usual term in the professional gatherings, discussions, lectures, etc. that I've been part of.

• pineresin
    15 years ago

'Bloom' is a largely poetic / semi-archaic term (either as a verb or as a noun); some people like using it, others tend not to use it.

Resin

• botanybabe
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Of course there are, as Sandy suggests, bigger things to get in a flap about. Generally I tend to expend my energy on things like cleaner water, cleaner air, conservation of the rainforest species, etc.

The Calflora botannical terms list defines the word "bloom" this way: Bloom: a white, powderlike coating sometimes found on a leaf or stem surface

Ibiblio at botanyNet doesn't even have the word "bloom" in its lexicon.