Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
reinbeaux

Ultra tropicals

reinbeaux
19 years ago

I understand from a physiological standpoint why some plants can not survive freezing temperatures and will die when their cells freeze- but what about ultra tropical plants that die when the temperatures fall below 55f (or so depending on the plant) - or at other temps well above freezing? why would such a plant die at say 50f -55f? Obviously they do not die because the water in the cells freeze -- so what is the mechinism / why do some plants die if the temps fell below 50f ?

Some passion flower varieties are hardy to below freezing, some to freezing - and yet others die if the temperatures fall below 55f --- I would like to know the physiology of the different varieties - especially why some die below 50f.

If we only knew what the future holds - I graduated from college with a degree in science - yet never took plant biology or any plant classes --- who knew then I would now be raising plants for a living? (certainly not me!)

Comments (26)

• tapla (mid-Michigan, USDA z5b-6a)
    19 years ago

The cold damages plants in several ways. If severe, it damages some of the cellular internal membranes, causing phenolic compounds to leak out of the cell. The phenolic compounds oxidize when exposed to air, causing the damaged tissue to turn black. Slightly damaged plants might cup their leaves downward or wilt.

Cold produces many of the same stresses that are brought on by a prolonged drought. During a cold spell, a plant's ability to absorb or translocate water is severely reduced as its own cells function less efficiently at the lower temperatures.

Obviously, cold tolerance varies widely by species, but within species and even cultivars, genetics are a key factor in determining a plants resistance to cold stress.

Al

• reinbeaux
    Original Author
    19 years ago