Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gotoguy_gw

Root permeability

gotoguy
18 years ago

I suppose common sense would admit that living things do not respond to a stimulus, which leads me to believe that a there is no way to see a physical change it regard to some stomata like apperature controlling permeability (osmosis) in the roots, with pH as a variable? Would there be any other way other than microscopy to view such a change? I am not a professional, but have a strong interest, and am currently working on a fully synthetic environment for plant life.

Comments (7)

• nazanine
    18 years ago

Are you saying that you want to know if water absorbtion by roots can be affected by pH? If so, there is at least one indirect way, no need for a microscope. LMK if that's your question.

• gotoguy
    Original Author
    18 years ago

What is LMK? And no I know they are strongly affected by pH levels, I want to know how much. I am building a totaly synthetic environment in order to totaly datalog a plants life via my pc 24hrs per day. I am searching for a correlation between maximum permeabilty based on pH levels, and nutrient availability at that pH. Call it a plant specific diet. Plants absorb more, or become more permeable based on a pH level, which means that osmosis occurs at a given rate based on the same scale.

• taxonomist
    18 years ago

I, too, would like to know the meaning of LMK.
    I believe that GOTOGUY should avail himself of a good text on plant physiology.Try Plant Physiology by Taiz and Zeiger,1998, Sinauer Assoc. The library call No. is QK 711.2, T35.
    This excellent work might well give you all the answers

• nazanine
    18 years ago

LMK = Let me know ;D