Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
medha_nanal

Will bone meal work for my Guzmania?

homey_bird
13 years ago

Hi,

A complete bromeliad newbie here. I got a few Guzmanias last summer and each one threw 3-4 pups. The pups have grown to almost 75% of their mother's size by now.

Now, I am trying to make sure these pups get a head start this season and just repotted them using Bone Meal. I am now begining to second guess myself: should I have rather used the commercial Brom food instead? One important aspect is that I'm trying to grow them in a natural/organic way. Is this going to work to help blooms?

I read that Guzmanias' roots are mainly for anchoring purpose. When I examined the rootball, in one case the pups seemed to have been almost rootbound....thus it seemed like the roots do some real work there. If so, can I expect the roots to be able to digest the bone meal broken down eventually?

Would appreciate pointers! Thanks in advance!

Comments (7)

• hotdiggetydam
    13 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I can only tell you what I do. I live where we have short winters and long hot/humid summers.
    GUZMANIA: Low light, warm air, plenty of plant food and moist pot space. Guzmanias are truly tropical plants. Neglect of any sort will cause them to look less than attractive. Feed heavily and keep in a constant, stable environment. The Guzmania hybrids are easier to grow than the species and usually more spectacular. Grow outdoors in beds only where no freeze occurs.
    Bone meal in small amounts should be ok once in the spring time with a small amount of time release balanced fertilizer like nutricote pellets. I feed the few (guzmania)that I grow with a good liquid fertilzer every 2 weeks in the growing season.

• splinter1804
    13 years ago

Hi everyone,