Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bromaloonie

What do I do now?

bromaloonie
15 years ago

Hi guys, Im needing your expert advice on what i should now do with these seedlings that keep popping up everywhere all over my brom house

how do i grow them ?

where do i put them ?

and how should i care for them?

Normally i just leave them and let them die but this year i think i wanna give it a go to save their lives

Thanks in advance

Germaine

{{gwi:436625}}

Comments (8)

• bromadams
    15 years ago

Try this method from Derek. I guess you can just put the seedlings onto or into the sphagnum. I like to use a 5" pot in a gallon zip lock bag myself. Just get the style of bag that has a small area above the zip lock so you can poke a hole in there and hang it.

Here is a link that might be useful: Bagged seeds

• splinter1804
    15 years ago

Hi Bromaloonie,

You ask for expert advice; well although I'm not an expert I'll put my two bobs worth in anyway.

I have had some success growing brom. seeds and my advice would be to try as many different methods as you can and stick to what works best for you.

You say the seedlings are self-sown so it won't cost you anything to try different methods and make a few stuff-ups along the way, I think we've probably all done this, but the joy of seeing what you've raised from a baby is what really makes it worthwhile and who knows, you may just have a champion among your seedlings.

In my experience most tiny seedlings are lost by damp-off caused by planting too deep in the mixture whatever it may be. I have found that transplanting them so the base of the seedling is just level with the surface of the mix works best for me and I haven't lost any since I started doing it this way.