Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
missmaddylyn

Can they be saved?

MissMaddylyn
10 years ago

I recieved these three plants from work, she thought they just looked rough and didnt want to try to sell them anymore. I would like to save them if possible, but have never had bromeliads before. Any tips?

Comments (5)

• splinter1804
    10 years ago

I agree they do look a bit rough - My first thoughts are over-watered and growing in very low light

I'm not an expert by any means but I have grown Brom's for a while and can only tell you what I would do here where I live in Australia.

Firstly start with the basics and take them out of the pots and check the potting mix to see if it's too wet or not.

If it is, remove all the old mix and any dead roots. While it's out of the pot also remove any dead leaves and trim back any broken ones.

Check for signs of Root Mealy Bug (See: http://www.ipm.ucdavis.edu/PMG/r280301011.html ) and if present, give the whole plant a soak in a good reliable systemic insecticide following manufacture's instructions.

Re-pot in a good quality open type orchid potting mix which will allow the water to drain though easily. Water well and then give a dose of a good quality seaweed tonic such as Seasol or equivalent.

Put the plants in a well lit position out of direct sun and just water as required.

As I don't know your growing conditions I can't advise on this except to say that more plants die of over-watering than under-watering. Perhaps someone in your own locality could better advise you on this very important cultural activity.

I hope this is of some help to you

All the best, Nev.

• MissMaddylyn
    Original Author
    10 years ago