Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
anniesam_gw

Billbergia Babies

anniesam
15 years ago

Hi Everyone, Thanks Richard for posting my Billbergia Babies, I have finally gotten into the brom house and snapped some photos. Im very happy with these as they are starting to show some great colours and patterns.

This is my first attempt at Billbergias and its been a great learning experience.{{gwi:442636}}

{{gwi:442637}}

{{gwi:442637}}

{{gwi:442638}}

Some have showed great colour from a very small stage. I have not used any fetilizer at all , as i was told Billbergias do not like it. I have done a number of different crosses, some for Flowering Billbergias but most for the colourful foliage.

Crosses include Aussie Rose x Fantasia, (Bob Tail x Gem)x Medowie Gift- showing the most beautiful reds into soft pinks, Kahiba x Muriel Waterman, Halleluja x(Domingos Martins x Amoena viridis), Windii x Leptopodia Hybrid, Windii x Domingos martins, Pyramidalis x Euphemia and a number of selfings- Bellisima, Mandas Othello, just to name a couple.

Growth has been very fast with some just over 30cm tall and in 140ml pots. I guess at a rough count there would be about 1500 pots(and some still in seedling trays) Biggest problem now is !!! Im out of room,

Tamera.

Comments (7)

• splinter1804
    15 years ago

Hi Tamera - Goodonya!

It's great to see someone else hooked on growing broms from seed in Aus, I don't feel on the outer any more.

Nice looking little babies, too many for you to handle. Do you sell or swap them?

Keep the pic's coming please.

All the best, Nev.

• anniesam
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Hi Nev, Thanks for the kind words, I know ive got to get rid of a few of them( Thats why Richard has some-he has more room than me) I will be selling/ swapping some of them in the near future, just letting them grow up a bit more.