Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
suecirish

Nidularium, I think

suecirish
15 years ago

Hi,

I'm really a novice with Bromeliads. I bought one and promptly killed it and then replaced it in Nov 2007 with this one. I think it has survived basically because I have mostly neglected it. I have been on a mission lately to try to identify it. I think I have narrowed it down to either Nidularium innocentii var. striatum OR Nidularium rutilans variegated. The plant has never flowered since I have had it, though there is a large pup still attached to the mother and a second pup growing from the first. In appearance in photos, those two look very very similar. From what I have read, the difference is that the leaves of N. rutilans are thicker and stiffer. If I am correct then I think this is the correct ID. But if anyone has any other information or suggestions to offer, I'd be most grateful. It is still in the original plastic store pot and soil, so I am about to repot this and give it a bit of dignity finally, and it should have an identity.

{{gwi:445020}}

Comments (10)

• hotdiggetydam
    15 years ago

You may have to wait for a flower to ID this plant

• LisaCLV
    15 years ago

What made you decide it was a Nidularium, Sue? I'm not getting that vibe from it at all, especially not the two you mention. Is the leaf margin spiny? It looks pretty smooth to me. My first thought was that it might be a Vriesea, but after seeing the way the pup is coming out, it looks more like a Neoregelia. There are several spineless (or nearly spineless) variegated Neo hybrids with N. compacta, macwilliamsii or Fireball in the mix. Maybe Martin? How big is that pot? That may help narrow it down.

• suecirish
    Original Author
    15 years ago