Kindly identify this brom, thanks!
* It's a huge plant.
Photobucket

Photobucket

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Neoregelia ID

Lyndi,

I'm no expert but it does look a little like Neo. Red Macaw which can be a reasonable sized Neo.

Rick

o

Hi Lyndi

What about Neo Fairchild? It's for sure some kind of johannis, but it looks just like my Fairchild.

Japie

o
RE: Neoregelia ID - pictures

I forgot to add the pictures for you Lyndi. The first one was taken about a year ago and the second one, just a couple of months back when it has started flowering already.

Photobucket

Neo Fairchild - flowering

o

I'm with Japie. That looks exactly like my N. johannis, Lyndi. I'm not sure if my clone is Fairchild or not, but it probably is.

Grown in full sun:

Photobucket

Same cv., shaded by a tree:

Photobucket

o

Rick, Japie and Lis

Thanks for your ID help!

o

Hi Lyndi,
I have a similar plant which is about 2'6" across. This pic shows it in full sun almost all day. When grown in semi shade it is much the same colour as yours.

Is your plant this big also?

Unknown Neoregelia

All the best, Nev.

o

Wow! Nev, glad to know it can take full sun. Thanks!

o

Hi Lyndi - Here's two of my plants which I mentioned above, the first one is in the open and unprotected from the sun. It has a few burn marks from our Jan.(43 degree) heatwave day.

The second is growing beneath 50% shade cloth.

Photobucket

Photobucket

All the best, Nev.

o

Nev, the flowers of your plant seems to be blue - or are my eyes playing tricks with me? They are very small. If they are blue, then this is not a johannis or Fairchild. They whole inflorescence also does not have that johannis look to it.

Japie

o

Hi Lyndi - Ooops! sorry lyndi, wrong info given.

Thanks avane for pointing out the colour of the flowers on my plant. I guess in my excitement to become involved in the discussion I didn't digest the start of Lyndi's request which was addressed to "experts".

Yes avane you were right about the flowers.