Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lyndi_whye

The Carcharodons

lyndi_whye
16 years ago

Hello! Everyone

I am a newbie when growing bromeliads is concerned.

Me and a group of enthusiastic friends imported our plants from Michael. We also collected a few from Thailand and Australia as the local nurseries only carry a few from Indonesia.

We went through lots of trials and errors to find the ideal growing conditions and suitable potting mix for growing neoregelias here in tropical Singapore. One of our problems is to retain or achieve their optimum colour especially the pinks, purple and reds. I hope experts out there would share us a trick or two with me. Thanks!

I would like to share pictures of a few of my favourite neoregalias for a start.

Neo. carcharodon 'Giant'

{{gwi:450993}}

Neo. carcharodon 'Rainbow'

{{gwi:450994}}

Neo. carcharodon 'Tiger'-

{{gwi:450995}}

Any ideal how to get the tiger to colour up? It is not under any shade cloth, just shade from nearby plants in the afternoon.

Crypt. 'Frostbite'

{{gwi:450996}}

Comments (16)

• avane_gw
    16 years ago

Lyndi, thanks for showing that Giant, I always wanted to know how it looks!

In my humble opinion, feed your plants as little as possible and give them sun as much as possible. I am almost sure they all will take full sun all day long coupled with your high humidity. But keep a careful eye on them, if they show signs of sunburn or washed out colour (a sickly yellowy colour) give them a bit more shade. That brilliant green on the new growth of Tiger and Giant and Rainbow, says either too much shade and/or too much food.

Enjoy them!

Japie

• jaga
    16 years ago

Lyndi, congrats, wish we could have these plants- almost impossible to get here. Does anyone know if the tiger or other cacharadons would self pollinate?

• avane_gw
    16 years ago

Jaga, for this one, I do believe Lisa when she said Tiger is a self pollinater!

Japie

• LisaCLV
    16 years ago