Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
palmcitrusbananava

Bromeliads Beginner needs help

palmcitrusbananava
13 years ago

I need some help, because I am a complete beginner at Bomeliads. I am wondering if any can live in my conditions.

-I live across the street from the ocean, so we have some salt spray

-Zone 7

-We get frosts in the winter

-I also does get pretty windy for any storms

Will any survive in my location all year?

Also is it true that they grow on almost any surface?

My plans would be some on rocks, some on these large wooden pillars, and some on driftwood.

Thanks in advance to anyone that helps me

I have no preference on color, I find most if not all of them pretty neat

-zach

PS: I do have a pineapple, but I move it in during the winter

Comments (6)

• hotdiggetydam
    13 years ago

Most bromeliads do not like salt. This includes saltwater spray, driftwood that been in saltwater. And you will have to move the plants into protection during winter. They are tropical rainforest plants.
    Here is a good site to do some reading on FCBS.org
    As for growing on anything that depends on the bromeliad you want to grow. Check out Tillandsia on that site. Neorgelia provide great color assortments and are easy to grow.
    Lastly this is an addictive thing you are about to start so don't get carried away. Remember every one of these plants produce pups when in good growing conditions. SO have a plan of where to put the babies that will come along.

• splinter1804
    13 years ago

Hi HDD

You make a very good point about addiction; something that we often overlook. I got the shock of my life when I looked at my collection the weekend and the realisation suddenly dawned on me that my collection (which almost fills the back yard now) will at the very least have doubled in size by this time next year.