Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
love_the_yard

Would like a Plant ID, please

Can you ID this brom from the photos? I think it is a billbergia, but I am not even sure about that. It came as a three pup cluster in a black nursery pot full of sand from a little beach consignment store a year ago. It was labeled "Christmas Cactus", LOL. I separated them and planted them around one of my oaks. They bloomed this past winter but I missed getting a photo. You can see the remains of a spent bloom in one picture. Also, all three of the original pups have now pupped. Does anyone know the name?

Thanks very much!
Carol in Jacksonville

{{gwi:452911}}

{{gwi:452913}}

{{gwi:452915}}

{{gwi:452917}}

{{gwi:452919}}

{{gwi:452921}}

{{gwi:452922}}

{{gwi:452924}}

{{gwi:452926}}

Comments (9)

• splinter1804
    11 years ago

Hi Carol - I'm no Billbergia expert but I do have a few in my bromeliad collection including one that looks very similar to the one you have posted pictures of.

Bill's of this type aren't exactly easy to identify as there are many which look very similar, however the one I have is very commonly grown here in Australia and it's been around for years and was first recorded back as far as the 1800's.

Because of this I expect it's just as commonly grown in the US as well as Australia and I'll take a guess and say it's Bill. 'Hoelscheriana'. That's my guess anyway and it will be interesting what others think.

You will be able to find out more on the BCR or the FCBS Photo Index.

Incidentally the plant in your pic.No. 4 appears to have seed capsules forming on the old inflorescence as well.

All the best, Nev.

• User
    11 years ago

Looks like B. 'Fascinator' grown in low light.

• Carol love_the_yard (Zone 9A Jacksonville, FL)
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Hi Nev and Gonzer,