Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
haxuan

What do you think?

haxuan
13 years ago

I'm planning to mount my tillandsias and bromeliads on this "tree". Do you think it's OK to do so? Should I treat the "tree" with a coat of paint first to prevent rot?

{{gwi:456040}}

Many thanks for your advice.

Xuan

Comments (12)

• vriesea
    13 years ago

Hi Xuan ,that is an interesting ' Tree ' not sure about painting it ,i am a profesional house painter ( 51 years experience ) and to preserve it you would have to use a oil based paint ,now most plants will not like the taste of that ,and if you use a ' Water' based Acrylic paint,( read that as water thinnable ,no paint is based on water as such )you will not preserve the tree as it is a porous paint ,( water proof but not water tight ) best would be to give it a coat of Linseed oil and leave it in the sun for about a week ,it will preserve to a degree and plants will be ok with it, i hope this helps ,
    Cheers Mate ,
    Jack

• hotdiggetydam
    13 years ago

Xuan, I personally would not use any preservation. It takes away from the look of the plants and wood. Let nature take its course. Some of my wood mounts are more that than 10 years old and literally held together by the plants themselves.

• haxuan
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Oh, thank you very much, Jack and hotdiggetydam, for your quick advice.

I'll see what I can do. If I cannot find that Linseed oil as Jack recommended, I might as well leave the "tree" alone.

Again, many thanks for your advice.

Xuan

• bromadams
    13 years ago

I tried some linseed oil on a cedar orchid basket a few months back. The brom I put in there hasn't shown any ill effects so far. I've never heard of anyone using linseed oil before but I wanted to do the experiment to see if it has any positive long term effect on the basket life.

• kerry_t_australia
    13 years ago