Return to the Bromeliad Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
My Plant is smelling....Anyone know why?

Posted by oneleggedduck Florida (My Page) on
Tue, Apr 16, 13 at 9:56

I recently purchased a beautiful Bromeliad from local discount store. I have really enjoyed it and watered it daily as the instruction card indicated. I have rotated it 2x daily to make sure it is getting adequate sunlight, moving it to a different room, etc.
I picked it up today and noticed a very strong smell coming from it. Almost smells like ruined milk. Anyone know what is going on? I am a novice gardener. I did spray it a couple of times into the middle part that is flowering...as I noticed just a tad of something that looked like mold/fungus, etc. I used a plant spray specifically for that.
I hope I don't have to chunk it!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: My Plant is smelling....Anyone know why?

Water in the cup should be dumped out weekly and fresh put in it.

o

I don't even water it in the cup....as I saw on the web, it was not necessary unless it was kept outside....which it isn't.

o

Don't believe everything you read on the Web. Outside or not, water in the cup.

o

• Posted by rednofl 9b Goldenrod Fl hz (My Page) on
    Wed, Apr 17, 13 at 17:18

You've probably got a guz. dont water in the flower but water in the leaf below the flower. I would let the soil dry out . The surest way to kill a brom is to overwater it. Mist it daily but water it when it dry's out,

o

If it was a Guz it wouldn't have the smell. Look on FCBS.org at Neoregelia photos and see if its a cup type. Could also be Aechmea or several other cup types. Without a photo its only a guess. But keep clean water in the cup no matter what the web says. Water the soil when it is dry and you will have a happy plant and plenty of pups.

o

• Posted by udom asia (My Page) on
    Fri, Apr 19, 13 at 7:50

It got rotton from too much water.

o

I think the confusion here is how much water and where.