Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tropic_lover

New to Broms Need advice

Hey everyone, I am new to broms and I have a couple of noid neo's and guzmania that I just purchased at the local nursery. And I have to say after looking at some of the BEAUTIFUL pictures that people have posted here, I definetly want some more!I live in northern Utah and I plan on growing them outside for the summer and bringing them in the house for the winter months. I have a few questions about growing them. When I put them outside, should they be in full shade or can they take some early morning or late evening sun? Also what is the low mimimum temp that they can take? Our temps here should be warming up quite a bit within a month or so and I would like to put them out as soon as it is safe. I was also wondering if you fertilize and if so, what do you use and how often?Thanks again for posting all your beautiful pictures! I really enjoy looking at them. Linda

Comments (6)

• rickta66
    15 years ago

Linda,

Generally Neos with soft green leaves prefer low light/morning sun, coloured Neos with tough leathery leaves will tolerate a lot more sun. Most Neos like moring sun. Your Neos shouldn't need fertilising, a good free draining potting mix will keep them healthy.

I don't grow a lot of Guzs, they generally would require less light than the Neos and would favour a shadier position. I have read that you can use a little potash to encourage flowering.

See the link below for some Cold hardiness info.

If you post some pictures I'm sure you will get some more detailed advice.

It is worth going back through the old posts here, there are some very informative topics here.

Rick

Here is a link that might be useful: Bromeliad Cold hardiness

• Linda's Garden z6 Utah
    Original Author
    15 years ago