Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
greentoe357

addition to the family

greentoe357
9 years ago

This Aechmea chantini finished flowering 3-4 weeks ago, and I was looking for a pup (or three) to pop from between the leaves, like on my Neoregelia. Instead, I just noticed this little guy saying hello to the world from the ground near mom. Very cute!

Those are the only two Broms I grow, and they behave very differently from most other of my plants - and from each other, as it now turns out. I am still learning about them, so any growing advice is appreciated.

Comments (17)

• hotdiggetydam
    9 years ago

Large wire basket with coco liner

• petrushka (7b)
    9 years ago

looks like you put it in pure bark?
    i got vriesea splendens and guzmania lingulata in fl for xmas (both red bracts) - doing well and pups are quite big already, especially on vrisea, but my neo carolinae pup just started in march, is about 2-3" at most now.
    going very slow.
    and my achmea faschiata is also just starting to pup - 1-2" so far.
    all in the orig pots/medium. i don't bother to repot, they are doing fine as is :). or so i think...

• splinter1804
    9 years ago

Hi greentoe - I find that these plants tend to want to grow out of pots and in my experience this is telling us they would rather be mounted or planted in a basket as HDD says so they are free to roam. We shouldn't forget that in habitat these plants are epiphytes and in cultivation we just confine them to pots for our own convenience.

All the best Nev.

• greentoe357
    Original Author
    9 years ago

> Large wire basket with coco liner
    > they would rather be mounted or planted in a basket

Can't do that - I am growing in an apartment, indoors only, so dripping and watering frequency are concerns.

> looks like you put it in pure bark?