Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hzdeleted_19765985

The new arrivals as promised

User
16 years ago

These creations of Lisa are going to be great when they grow up. I'm partial to "Pipeline" since my background is surfing. Below them are 3 Vriesea hybrids that Rancho Soledad Nursery created that I picked up for a song, no names as yet.

{{gwi:458077}}

{{gwi:458078}}

{{gwi:458079}}

{{gwi:458080}}

{{gwi:458081}}

{{gwi:458082}}

{{gwi:458083}}

{{gwi:458084}}

{{gwi:458086}}

{{gwi:458087}}

{{gwi:458089}}

Comments (30)

• hotdiggetydam
    16 years ago

LOL Purple cow??? how did that pop in the pictures
    I like them all

• jaga
    16 years ago

Nice haul Gonzor- especially love the names for Lisa's creations! When's Holy Cow coming out?
    Well done on the vriseas, thanks for sharing the pictures.

• LisaCLV
    16 years ago

Yeah, alright.... mock if you must, but YOU try coming up with some good names! I needed a word to go with purple, and rain, haze, passion, etc. had all been used. I could have called it Purple People Eater, so count your blessings. :-p

Gonzer, most of those appear to be showing the effects of winter, i.e. not much coloration and kinda stretched out. If you grow them fairly hard they will get better, I promise you. Meanwhile, dibs on the first pup from that last Vriesea!

Here is a link that might be useful: Purple cow

• ozvon
    16 years ago

The Vrieseas are spectacular - you should be very proud of yourself :-)

• treehaus
    16 years ago

Wow, Lisa - whether by intention or coincidence you managed to "quote" the "Purple Cow" of this poem by naming a Bromeliad "Purple Cow," I would say that makes you exempt from all mockery - very impressive (as well as safe - Gelett Burgess can no longer "kill you if you quote it!")