Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dooghie

Bromelaid help needed!

dooghie
15 years ago

Hello

I have a bromelaid very similar to this; except the orchid is pink and the bromelaid was orange/ red

http://products.proflowers.com/flowers/SunandMoonOrchidGarden-42863?viewpos=17&trackingpgroup=pbs&ref=FGVSRCHgoogkwd_discount+fresh+flowers_cSRA&pagesplit=SRA&catid=pbs

Last year the color part started turning brown so not knowing what I was doing, I used a scissor and cut the whole stalk (thereby removing all brown parts; the leaves are still green but the orange part is not there. What can I do to get this back. I know now I shouldnt have treated it the way I did, but I didnt know how to remove the brown part.

thank you

c

Comments (3)

• hort_lvr_4life
    15 years ago

C,

The Bromeliad is a Guzmania. Unfortunately, I don't know the species. Maybe someone else does. I probably would have cut it off too, but I am not an expert. Maybe someone else will be able to answer that as well. What I do know is you cannot get it to grow back because Bromeliads bloom once and then die. However, in the process of dying Bromeliads grow pups so you have new plant life to take care of until they too bloom, produce pups and die. Keep taking care of it well and look for pups soon. Guzmanias like moderate light, keep soil moist at all times, keep water in the urn, prefers high humidity and you can use a fertiizer if you like. Some people in this forum use N-P-K ratios of 1 part N to 1.5 parts P to 2 parts K while others use an even 20-20-20 or 10-10-10 etc. and others have different preferences as well. I still don't use fertilizers yet because I am scared (chicken, really).

I hope I helped a little.

• kerry_t_australia
    15 years ago

Hi "chig".