Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
catkim_gw

Billbergia project - pls help with IDs

catkim
14 years ago

Working on a Billbergia educational display board, I went through my photos and culled some decent Billbergia photos. Problem: I don't have IDs for every photo. Can you help?

1) Well, I *think* this is a Billbergia. Hoping the distinctive coloring will make it easy to ID.

{{gwi:462143}}

2) I'm guessing the plant on the right is B. 'Domingos Martins' -- agree? Disagree? But who is that on the left?

{{gwi:462144}}

3) Ideas?

{{gwi:462145}}

4) Is this one distinctive enough for a solid guess? It's in a fairly shady location...

{{gwi:462146}}

5) I don't know why I end up with so many unlabeled plants. : ) Any guesses?

{{gwi:462147}}

Comments (11)

• avane_gw
    14 years ago

Catkim, I'm no expert on Billbergia's, but #1 looks an awful lot like Aech phanerophlebia rubra.

Japie

• LisaCLV
    14 years ago

Kim, I'm with Japie on #1. Aechmea, not Bill.

#2 looks like Baton Rouge on the left and Domingos Martins on the right. #3 is probably Hallelujah. Not sure about #4, but #5 appears to be B. amoena Rubra.

• catkim
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Wouldn't you know I'd mistake an Aechmea for a Bill! :b I will pull that pic out of the bunch!

Very grateful for the help, Japie and Lisa! Agree with your suggested names, Lisa, and I have confidence in your knowledge. Anyone else, feel free to pitch in.

• splinter1804
    14 years ago

Hi catkim,

Number 2 on the left looks very much like a plant I have called Billbergia Kip when grown in strong light.

Al the best, Nev.

• User
    14 years ago

#4 looks like amoena var. viridis.

• sdandy
    14 years ago

#4 kinda looks 'Pink Champagne'-ish to me. Well, at least what I have that is labeled Pink Champagne.
    -andy

• catkim
    Original Author
    14 years ago